Follow TV Tropes

Following

Web Animation / Dragon ShortZ

Go To

https://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/dragon_shortz_title.png
What happened to the Z-warriors between Cell and Buu? Let's find out!
Advertisement:

Dragon ShortZ is a new CGI-based animated series being produced by Team Four Star. The series tells the stories of the characters of Dragon Ball — or, more specifically, Dragon Ball Z Abridged — that went untold in canon between the Cell and Buu sagas. These stories will be told in juicy 3-to-5-minute bits.

The voice acting is being done by the TFS crew. Currently, it's confirmed that Nick "Lanipator" Landis is reprising Vegeta, and Curtis "Takahata101" Arnott is reprising Nappa.

The first episode details Vegeta and Nappa watching Baby Trunks while Bulma is on a business trip. The second episode details Goten's birth. The third episode will detail Krillin and Android 18's first date.

The series was announced on September 16, 2019 in a TFS Update on YouTube. The first episode debuted on YouTube on November 13, 2019, at 20:00 UTC (3:00pm EST), with a sneak preview launched on Patreon for patrons of TFS at 05:00 UTC (Midnight EST).

Advertisement:


Dragon ShortZ provides examples of:

  • Big "NO!": Vegeta upon finding out he has to babysit Trunks with Nappa.
  • Brick Joke: Vegeta is "a bad dad and a terrible partner" (to Trunks and Bulma, respectively)
  • Call-Back: Vegeta being referred as "A bad dad and a terrible partner" again.
    Vegeta: Why does everyone keeps saying that!?
  • Christmas Episode: Goten's birth happens on Christmas while Gohan is doing everything he can while Piccolo, Bulma, Vegeta, and Yamcha arrive to see him, though Chi-Chi tells the latter to Get Out!.
  • Dom Com: Episode 1 shows Vegeta taking care of Trunks at Capsule Corporation.
    Vegeta: Yes, I know all the emergency numbers, but I'm pretty sure I can get him to a hospital faster than an ambulance.
  • Interquel: These shorts take place during the seven-year Time Skip between the Cell Saga and the Buu Saga, which was never fully explored in the original Dragon Ball Z.
  • Advertisement:
  • Space "X": Continuing the tradition from the main series, Nappa posts pictures of Vegeta doting on Trunks to Spacetagram.
  • Theme Tune Cameo: The brief theme tune for ShortZ takes cues from both "Cha-La Head Cha-La" and "We Gotta Power".
    • Additionally, the establishing shot of the first episode and the "credits" theme are variations on "I'll Give You Romance"
  • Screw This, I'm Outta Here!: Piccolo arrives to help with Chi-Chi's labor, but the moment he sees Goten's head coming out of Chi-Chi giving birth, he Nopes the hell out.
    Gohan: How can you not handle this? You died for me!
    Piccolo: And I would agaaaaaaaaain!!! (flies off)
    Gohan: YOU COWARD!!!

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report