Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Manga / My Hero Academia

Go To

02/13/2019 06:00:04 •••

Ryochi's My Hero Academia Review (Or: Generic: The Manga)

Back to Pros and Cons. Since I find it easier to do in this limited format. Since this manga is ongoing my opinions my drastically change.

Pros:

  • Izuku is a decently written Shonen protagonist

  • The art style is interesting

  • World is interesting...

Sigh, here it comes.

Cons:

  • (Major) Bakugou is one of the most poorly written characters I have ever seen in a Shonen

  • The World may be interesting but the worldBUILDING is either lazy or portrayed in an uninteresting fashion

  • The rest of the characters aren't much to talk about to be honest

  • (Minor) I honestly would have liked to see Izuku try to be a hero through determination and hard work instead of having the power handed to him. (Like in any other shonen) It was sort of a cop out in my opinion.

  • The author likes Naruto and it SHOWS. It really, really shows. (Decide for yourself whether or not this is a bad thing. For me, its a bad thing)

  • (Minor) The Tone Shift in the Villain Alliance arc felt forced and there was no sense of gradual progression (or even a subtle sense) for it to not be as jarring

  • Another Tournament Arc? Seriously? This isn't even an interesting spin on it too!

Overall:

I will still continue to read this manga despite my dislike of it...since it can be a fun read sometimes. I won't disregard its flaws though.

Bakugou has got to be one of the most poorly written Shonen characters I have ever seen in my entire run of reading Shonen. He changes from "full of rage" to "calm" without any proper development. His backstory is also laughably bad (I'm better than everyone else so Izuku my friend is garbage to me) without any logical reason for being that way whether good or bad. The rest of the characters aren't much to talk about either (cause its pretty young and besides they seem cliche anyways) except for Izuku who's easily the most fleshed out (isn't saying much).

The World seems wasted on this manga since the Writer doesn't properly build up on it. And when he does, it feels lazy ("The powers just came to us". Really?!) . I hope he improves on this in later chapters instead of trying too hard to be like the next Naruto

And we've had ENOUGH of the typical Tournament Arc. Please at least try to put a spin on it or make it interesting.

Sigh, I'll keep reading but I'm not expecting much out of this.

10/08/2018 00:00:00

I realize this is an older review, but Iím curious about two things: 1) Do you have any new thoughts on the series now that time has passed and things have changed? And 2) What exactly do you dislike about tournament arcs? Iíve only recently started getting into shonen-type stories, and Iíve noticed several people complaining about tournaments, but never really saying why theyíre bad.

10/09/2018 00:00:00

I don\'t necessarily agree with all the remarks on this review (particularly about Naruto), but I can explain why many people dislike tournament arcs. For one, tournament arcs are almost always the climax of sports manga, but battle manga have the option of doing something else for their stories. DBZ had Goku fight Frieza on an exploding planet, which was followed up by Gohan fighting Cell on a flat, plain, fighting square. A combination of a dull environment aesthetic and a predictable plot structure makes tournament arcs rather reviled.

Tournament arcs can be inventive, but it is done very rarely. I found Fate/Zero\'s Holy Grail War one of the more captivating arcs, as the rules implemented by the Magi Association that are suppose to referee the event, are very different from the rules the Holy Grail actually enforced, meaning many of the competitors found different ways to cheat or kill, in a tournament could have been run more peacefully (only the Servants had to die, and all of them were revanents that had died before, so losing really just meant losing out on a wish). A battle of morality, perceptions, and codes were waged among the participants, as opposed to the knock out your opponent, or knock your opponent out of the ring you find in shonen everywhere.

With exception of Yu Yu Hakusho, most shonen manga\'s best arcs have nothing with tournaments because shonen have the chance to be more inventive. They could visit another world, travel through time, protect a city from invasion, etc. You read the Stain arc, wasn\'t that more thrilling watching a bunch of kids fight in a distilled protective space with no major reward or consequences toward losing? Tournament arcs lack tension because there is generally no major stake beyond the disappointment of losing to your opponent.

10/09/2018 00:00:00

Tournament arcs can be inventice, but it is done very rarely.

This is the main point. It\'s not so much an issue with tournamet arcs themselves, but how by the numbers they tend to be. This one despite being very predictable (with the exception of Izuku vs Todoroki and Todoroki vs Bakgou, you pretty much knew who was gonna win any fight involving those 3), it still went beyond that by barely going into most battles (look how many happen in one chapter, #35), basically saying, these are the fights that matter.

I also agree that Bakugou is a poorly written character and that the world is poorly explained. As for Izuku, I think full cowl was a terrible change that breaks a lot of the tension.

10/09/2018 00:00:00

(Minor) I honestly would have liked to see Izuku try to be a hero through determination and hard work instead of having the power handed to him. (Like in any other shonen) It was sort of a cop out in my opinion.

Meh. Aside from the fact Batmania makes me sick of Badass Normal protagonists and that Muggles Do It Better is a trope I loathe, I feel that would have made the protagonist blander in a show where diverse superpowers are the big selling point. Nobody would want to follow a normal guy in a setting where everyone has cool superpowers (again, excluding Batman, but even he has something helping). Also, the story makes it really blatant that with the level of some superpowers in that setting, a regular human would genuinely have no chance. Suspension of Disbelief can only go so far.

02/06/2019 00:00:00

This is a rather shallow review. Most of your cons aren\'t even explain well at all. It\'s simply \"I don\'t like X\" or \"this is bad\" without explaining why.

Poor review.

02/06/2019 00:00:00

Nobody would want to follow a normal guy in a setting where everyone has cool superpowers.

Kyon says, "Hi" 'cuz he was Haruhi Suzumiya's second most popular character, despite beng the only member of the SOS Brigade without any powers.

02/06/2019 00:00:00

Nobody would want to follow a normal guy in a setting where everyone has cool superpowers.

I don't get it, you yourself wrote Badass Normal so you know it exist. Hell, the most popular character of the spin-off is Knuckle Duster, who doesn't have a quirk.

02/10/2019 00:00:00

@Marcel

He is a Badass Normal who only gets by through sneak attacks, excessive brutality, backstreet dealings being constantly doped up with painkillers to keep the ache of his battered body at bay and his former training as a Pro Hero with a Quirk.

Context matters and Izuku would not have been able to become the hero he wanted to be without a Quirk.

02/10/2019 00:00:00

@reppuzan

context matters

And he\'s a fictional character, he would had been changed acordingly. What\'s your point? In fact, until full cowl, we saw Izuku get by mostly by his wits, since he couldn\'t just use OFA willy nilly. He even managed to get all the way to the final phase of the sports festival without using it.

...not that any of this matters as the point wasn\'t that he wouldn\'t be able to become a hero (even though there are several no-power in a superpowers world badasses), but that people wouldn\'t want to watch/read one.

02/10/2019 00:00:00

@Marcel

It's explicitly stated by All Might of all people that trying to become a Quirkless hero is nigh-impossible. Knuckleduster isn't a hero, he's a vigilante who quit for the most part once his main goal was accomplished.

Yeah, Izuku is a bright kid. But those things you talked about are in a controlled environment where he's at no real risk of death. But that was his remarkable trait: he was a scrawny weakling with extreme self-confidence issues until All Might trained him and gave him his blessing.

Plenty of people would like to read non-powered heroes (as evidenced by the plethora of wish-fulfillment Quirkless hero Izuku fics), but My Hero Academia in general continually deconstructs the notion of a Badass Normal in a society where almost everyone has a superpower.

Even Stain, who is held up as the epitome of Charles Atlas Superpower in the series, only gets by thanks to his ability to paralyze his foes with his Quirk. His prowess is just a means to get that lick in so he can stab his helpless victim. Without it, the playing field would be much more even and he's eventually overwhelmed once he goes up against three of U.A.'s best first-years since he doesn't have his instant win button available to him.

02/13/2019 00:00:00

It's explicitly stated by All Might

and? Like you said, Charles Atlas Superpowers are a thing on this world, not only that, but also Badass Bookworms (the department of support). That already means Batman and Ironman are possible, we've already seen this play out elsewhere, so unless there's a special reason, that statement is just not believable.

Eraserhead usually works (and prefers) alone, including against enemies that aren't affected by his quirk; Mirio was able to hold his own against a top class villain "after" he was quirkless, still "drunk" and trying to protect Eri. You didn't even rebute Knuckleduster, just stated facts about him as if they prove something in some way.

My Hero Academia in general continually deconstructs the notion of a Badass Normal in a society where almost everyone has a superpower.

When? plenty of quirks are support and the heroes/villains still need to use their physical skills to get by. Toga, Mandalay, even Ojiro's power is having an extra apendage, hence he learned martial arts.


Leave a Comment:

Top