Follow TV Tropes

Reviews WesternAnimation / Sponge Bob Square Pants

Go To

04/07/2013 16:10:57 •••

Oh, Paul Tibbitt....

Technically Iím supposed to be reviewing the whole series, so letís skip to the chase.

Season 1: Awesome.

Season 2: Awesome.

Season 3: Awesome.

The Movie: Awesome way to end the series.

Season 4: What? Another season? Well, itís Spongebob. Itís gotta be good.

Season5-Present: Holy crapÖ WHAT HAPPENED!?

In short, Spongebob used to be the greatest show on TV. Now it sucks. Why? Well besides the obvious, hereís my review. The plots are forced and about half of them revolve around Plankton, whoís become the real protagonist, and Krabís has become a frigginí jerkass. The animation, though improved, is definitely evolving into some high octane nightmare fuel. AndÖ has anybody noticed the large amount of specials now? The original Spongebob Squarepants showed one special a year, even skipping 2001. The number of specials has now been tripled, though earlier ones arenít too bad, like ďWhereís GaryĒ and ďDunces and Dragons.Ē

The charactersÖ OhÖ THE CHARACTERS. Basically they all fall under The Scrappy, except for maybe Plankton, who you canít help but feeling sorry for. Spongebob is the most annoying cartoon character on Nickelodeon right now. Well, maybe not the most, but heís definitely up there. Patrick went from being one of the most hilarious characters on television to being a toddler who thinks heís a big boy. Sandy. Well, I feel for Sandy too, considering that the show doesnít even remember her name. Squidward. Despite the character having very much less heart nowadays, he still doesn't deserve most of the crap he has to put up with. Most.

Spongebob still thinks itís a quality show, trying to fit in humor somewhere in those seriously messed up plots. But the problem is that it goes for long periods without humor, and when it tries to be funny, it just isnít. I donít exactly know who their targeted audience is, but kids will be frightened by the animation, familyís wonít understand or want their kidís watching it, and adultís will just cry over the loss of the one kidís show that actually seemed to make them laugh. In conclusion, Spongebobís downfall is truly heartbreaking. Iím looking forward to the series finale.

If this seemed harsh, that's because if you're going to make your opinion, you can't be shy.

07/31/2012 00:00:00

I TOTALLY agree with you about the characters. The new writers don't seem to have any respect for them at all; they think they can get away with turning them into annoying jerkasses and people will still love them. It's a travesty.

My only big complaint about your review is that it doesn't address why the first few seasons were awesome...but then again, I suppose anyone who's seem them already knows. If you can ignore the later seasons, I honestly think it's safe to call Spongebob THE best, funniest kids' cartoon ever. A real pity it's been dragged out past its prime.

08/05/2012 00:00:00

Of course. I didnt really wanna touch on those because I needed the rest of the room for my complaints. Spongebob would've been the best show ever if it weren't for Nickelodeon's utter dependence on it. And if THIS Spongebob is the best it can do, they need better shows.

08/13/2012 00:00:00

On the animation, this is one of those instances I keep thinking "Man, I wish they'd just kept with the original". The new seasons are too bright and in-your-face, meant to appeal to children. Which is unfortunate, because now I can see all the unnecessary Nightmare Fuel and Nausea Fuel in all its unappealing stupid.

I remember when my dad used to say "This show is stupid and annoying", and now I have to agree with him.

08/23/2012 00:00:00

Okay, just the very start of this review summed up my thoughts exactly. The rest of the review was spot-on, too. A perfect summation of how a great cartoon show has fallen.

08/24/2012 00:00:00

I'm sorry but I have disagree with this review. Sure,I do agree most of the episode are horrible or disgusting as crap. But some of episode are actually good. However compare to Season 2 and 3,they aren't that much good episode. I don't like a few of the pre-movie episode. Especially Party Pooper Pants. Argh.....

As of Spongebob and Patrick personalities,it depending on the writers. Seriously. You could blame some writers. Through Patrick is pretty brainless for most episode.

11/13/2012 00:00:00

In my opinion, it went from great to okay.

12/26/2012 00:00:00

I so disagree mr.hater >:(

02/08/2013 00:00:00

I agree with this review, except for the Squidward part

02/09/2013 00:00:00

I personally still like Squidward, and Gary, but the rest of the characters fall down to bland (Sandy, Plankton, Mr.s Puff) to downright loathable (Spongebob, Patrick, Mr. Krabs) When this show ends I will be dancing in happiness.

02/13/2013 00:00:00

I'm praying for the day it gets cancelled. I think Dquidward deserves at least some of the misery he gets because there are some episodes when all he wants to do is relax, and Spongebob and Patrick ruin everything for him. I just despise Spongebob, Patrick, and Mr. krabs.

02/13/2013 00:00:00

  • I made an error ^^^^ Squidward, I meant.

04/05/2013 00:00:00

Yeah, I guess I was pretty harsh on Squidward. The writers just make the character too flexible to the point where he could do something completely out of character and I wouldn't be surprised.

04/05/2013 00:00:00

That's understandable...I mean he did become a bigger jerk each season, but I think he only acts that way because Spongebob, Patrick, and Mr. Krabs annoy him more than they did in the earlier seasons.

04/05/2013 00:00:00

I think it's more a case of NONE of the characters actually being all that sympathetic personality wise, just Squidward gets ineffectual sympathy because he takes more than he dishes out. If he didn't, he'd likely be as hated as Mr Krabs right now.

04/07/2013 00:00:00

I agree with PSI.

In some episodes, at least Squidward gets his just desserts. He has only been a Karma Houdini in 3 episodes, while Plankton Cant Get Away With Nuthin.


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report