Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Series / Community

Go To

06/17/2020 10:05:06 •••

Comedy has never been this funny.

This video suggests that fans of certain critically acclaimed comedies are always comedy bullies who hate on you for not liking their shows. I shall unfortunately be a target of most of them, because most of these so-called comedies are not even funny, at least not in my opinion.

Community is the rare exception. Being written by self-confessed tropers, it's the wet dream of the rest of us. The laughs come a mile a minute, something I can't really say about most other sitcoms (with the exception of Modern Family). The characters are so much fun to watch while they interact in their crazy ways.

In short, I am highly ashamed that this great show has unfortunately been associated with Fan Myopia bullies. I am living proof that this show can be liked by anyone who isn't into niche and/or snob comedy (and I'm surprised this show could be considered either) like Louie or Parks And Recreation. And that Community fans are not by definition comedy bullies. I am also of the more realistic school that isn't continuously clamoring #sixseasonsandamovie, because while that would be awesome, I would hope that the show doesn't suffer in quality as a result. That said, quality remains strong going into season four, even without Dan Harmon at the helm. Best of luck to this one!

02/24/2013 00:00:00

So...um...all fans of Louie and P&R are snobs and assholes, is what you're saying here.

02/24/2013 00:00:00

I'm not saying all of those fans are assholes. But there are definitely assholes among them. I know because I've found myself the target of funny looks and questioning of my sanity for not being into Louie, P&R, Arrested Development, etc.

Call it Accentuating The Negative.

02/24/2013 00:00:00

...but there are no asshole Community fans.

02/24/2013 00:00:00

His whole review is trying to defend the show despite the fact it has some asshole fans (at least that's how I read it). I assumed that sentence was meant to read 'can be liked even by those' instead of 'anyone who isn't'. It's a bit of an ambiguous sentence ( you could read it as Community is this, like Louie or Parks and Recreation)

02/25/2013 00:00:00

Two things:

1. I love Parks and Rec. I'm pretty sure I'm not a snob, so I'm hoping that I just fall into the niche. Though I'm not going to dispute your point about bullying fans, because I've experienced it.

2. I loved Community even before I was a troper, which underlines that I wholeheartedly agree with your assessment of the show's appeal to a wide audience. Now that I am a troper, I like it that much more.

As far as I'm concerned, Community is in a league of its own. It's a brilliant show.

06/17/2015 00:00:00

is this review terrible or just baffling

07/28/2016 00:00:00

I think even calling it a review is generous. There are two vaguely-written lines about the actual show. The rest is just defending against strawmen.

06/17/2020 00:00:00

I've experienced a lot of shitty, shall we call them "overenthusiastic" Community fans that have turned me away from watching many times. Parks & Rec and Louie are more popular in America so I can't comment on their communities (hehe). But either way, not a very helpful observation.

But yeah, there's an awful lot of reviews on this site that are little more than arguments against imaginary strawmen and don't cover anything about the work they're reviewing.


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report