Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Anime / Digimon Tamers

Go To

03/11/2013 11:40:52 •••

I wanted so much to like it...

But I couldn't. I'm sorry.

I must admit, it was a good idea and was interesting at times. The one thing I couldn't stand were the characters. I honestly didn't mind any of them- at first. Then Rika came along. I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, but Rika was perhaps the most annoying girl in any Digimon series. Sure, she gets better and less absolutely intolerable, but I was not willing to wait that long. Wait just for what? To see a little ten-year-old girl getting mind raped?

Many like it for being dark, which makes me laugh. What, the other seasons were all nice? Nothing bad ever happened there? They also say how brilliant this season is because of all the research, which makes me wonder if they ever saw an episode of the second season.

Also, on the characters again: They all soon became annoying. I couldn't stand them. They turned what could have been a very good Mons series into something I really couldn't take.

Above that, though, it was boring. The first few episodes were very frustrating to watch. I wanted to be able to like it, but I just found myself waiting to see if anything actually happened before this episode was over.

So, in short: It was a good idea, but it was ruined by the characters and how dull it was.

01/13/2012 00:00:00

Tamers isn't dark per se, it's just a bit more mature, though it does have darker moments than some of the other series. Every main character has a psychological issue, not just one or two. The kids actually have to deal with their parents in this series, and we actually get to see some damage done to the real world. Not to mention the animation uses more drab colours. People often miss that the show has its lighter moments as well though. Like whenever Terriermon isn't fighting or Suzie/Shuichon in general. Digimon series aren't monochrome, and this applies to Tamers as much as any other series.

All the research and effort Konaka put into this season doesn't make it any more entertaining to me, but I can appreciate the realistic bent he was trying to give it. Nowhere in 02 was I ever once imagining that any of it was realistic, or even well written, aside from a few parts.

Rika/Ruki is already softening up by episode 7. Sure, she still has development to reach at that point, but she's also not treating Digimon as if they're nothing but killing machines anymore. It's a bit hard to believe that you couldn't stand the show because of one character anyway. And the first few episodes were more about building the world, the characters, and the atmosphere before the plot got off the ground. There's still a fight in some of them, so I don't know how you got bored, but view it as you will.

01/14/2012 00:00:00

First of all, I really like Digimon Tamers. Yet, I understand that some people may dislike it, and it must be said that it is perfectly legitimate to dislike a work. However, could you perhaps detail what is it that you find annoying? For example, is Rika annoying because she's a stuck up prick that hurts people, or is Takato annoying because he isn't hotblooded? It's just that the review doesn't make it clear.

02/13/2012 00:00:00

Exactly. I hate reviews that say "This sucks" without going into why.

You say Rika's annoying but you don't say why? Is it because she has an attitude problem? Yeah, 'cause Matt, Ken, Koji, and Thomas are fine with their angst and attitudes but how dare a girl behave that way, too! And then you say the whole cast is annoying and don't say why. WHY?

You harp on about how fans like it because it's dark and don't regard the other series' darkness. Liking something for being dark has always been shallow to me but this series is enjoyed for other things besides that, namely intelligent writing, good story arcs, great Character Development, and being more mature than the rest of the franchise. Nobody should deny that other Digimon series' had their moments of darkness but Tamers was just a whole new level of dark and edgy compared to the rest. Honestly, nothing out of the Adventure series' felt like anything out of a fucked up Gainax anime. Jeri alone has the darkest character arc in the franchise.

And you quite obviously have no patience for small stuff called world building, exposition, setting up the story and getting to know the characters because you call those episodes "boring." Yeah, go watch something with more action. Don't let shit like proper storytelling get in your way.

03/09/2013 00:00:00

Dull? Are you just not watching the first couple of episodes, or did you not see how the initial arc REALLY fleshed out the characters' personalities? In which other season do you get SUCH A GOOD FEEL for the characters as PEOPLE? You don't! Because they didn't "waste" any time showing the kids in their natural environments: Their home and their school. You're welcome to turn to a series like Savers for all action and no development, but don't bash a season for daring to take things more slowly.

03/11/2013 00:00:00

@Imperator Digimon Savers is a perfectly good example of showing the characters as people (well except for Yoshi,but to be fair I never thought of Kenta or Kazu being fleshed out enough either to count). Savers has plenty of development,Thomas goes from less introverted to more upright,Yoshi becomes an Action Girl,and Marcus actually becomes more heroic and seems to do things cuz' they're right.

He's right,Tamers is kinda boring. However I would've appreciated more in the review about Jeri or Impmon would were by far the most complex characters. period.

03/11/2013 00:00:00

@Imperator Digimon Savers is a perfectly good example of showing the characters as people (well except for Yoshi,but to be fair I never thought of Kenta or Kazu being fleshed out enough either to count). Savers has plenty of development,Thomas goes from less introverted to more upright,Yoshi becomes an Action Girl,and Marcus actually becomes more heroic and seems to do things cuz' they're right.

He's right,Tamers is kinda boring. However I would've appreciated more in the review about Jeri or Impmon would were by far the most complex characters. period.

As for research in 02,can you tell me where? I didn't see much of any. That was all action,forget the rest if there ever was a season like that.

03/11/2013 00:00:00

Not sure why that double posted,..whoops


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report