Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Film / Black Panther 2018

Go To

02/24/2018 14:21:18 •••

Amazing

Speculative fiction is meant to imagine possibilities beyond what we have already seen. And Black Panther does just that. It eschews the blockbuster action style of many superhero movies in favor of something more character-driven. While many have pointed out that some of the fight scene special effects are poorly executed, I feel like if you're going to see the movie for the fight scenes, you're missing the point.

Black Panther takes our world and asks you "Can you imagine...?" Because it can and does. We are treated to characters who vivid, balancing a sense of being both larger than life and relatable. The setting is clearly designed thoughtfully and with great love for the concept. And if you don't get chills at Killmonger's closing lines, well, consult a priest, because you may be lacking a soul.

GKG
02/23/2018 00:00:00

Why shouldnít people expect good special effects from an MCU movie? Thatís like half the reason people go to see them. Big superheroic action scenes where everything goes boom. The 200 million dollars just donít show up on the screen and thatís a flaw whether people like it or not.

02/23/2018 00:00:00

I don\'t think that\'s what they\'re saying - they\'re saying that there\'s a lot more to like about the film than just special effects, to the point that they\'re not really the film\'s selling point, and indeed, when I see people talking about Black Panther, they don\'t talk about fight scenes or special effects.

02/23/2018 00:00:00

Going to see Black Panther for the fight scenes is like going to see Jaws for the mechanical shark. Get bogged down in that single point and you\'ll miss the point. Many of the effects were just fine, and honestly, the costumes were easily worth every penny spent.

GKG
02/23/2018 00:00:00

Some effects being fine doesnít excuse the bad ones. Itís likue saying that itís fine if 20% of the movie has no sound since 80% of it has it. Good effects are to be expected, theyíre the bare minimum you should ask for. The movie is a gigantic CGI splurge and it shows it in a number of pretty embarassing instances.

The fight scenes are part of the draw of superhero movies. If Coogler wanted them not to be the draw, he shouldnít have included them, but since he did, well, itís perfectly legitimate to criticize them.

Itís funny that you mention people not talking about the fight scenes or special effects, because Iíve seen a lot of people mentioning them. Internet critics who give a damn about movies being good and filmmaking. Not critics who want you to go see a film because ę†itís important†Ľ.

02/23/2018 00:00:00

Yeah honestly I don\'t get the complaints about the CGI. It was only kind of noticeable in a few minor scenes. I think people are just super-spoiled about this kind of stuff these days, since we\'re immersed in hyper-realistic 4K-HD-4D-Hi-Def special effects in everything and everywhere now. It reminds me of the Nick Swardson bit about how movie special effects these days would\'ve completely blown the mind of anyone from a few decades ago into smithereens, but now everyone sees it and is like \'meh\'.

02/24/2018 00:00:00

Personally, my bare minimum is a decent story and interesting characters. Avatar, for instance, was very pretty, but boring as hell. As a result, it\'s had almost no staying power as a movie. If you want big, splashy effects, there are plenty of options out there, such as whatever Michael Bay is making next.

GKG
02/24/2018 00:00:00

It's got nothing about being "super-spoiled", it's about having standards. There's standards of originality and craft that the average moviegoer is entitled to: I find it rather perplexing that people are pulling the "well the special effects and fight scenes don't really matter" card to defend this movie and only THIS movie (well, not actually all that perplexing: when one sees how the first guy to give the film a bad review got raked over the coals... See that article from The Root for more info: https://www.theroot.com/are-white-film-critics-grading-black-panther-on-a-curve-1823166866). It's a MCU movie. Of course the fight scenes and the special effects matter.

"If you want big, splashy effects, there are plenty of options out there, such as whatever Michael Bay is making next."

Or Mad Max Fury Road. Or Star Wars. Or the Star Trek films. Or the other MCU movies where the special effects and fight scenes are better. But yeah, clearly, only Michael Bay cares about that.

02/24/2018 00:00:00

I dunno, it seems About the same as your defense of God Of War. Some less impressive fight scenes than other MCU movies might break it for other people, but clearly it doesn't for everyone.

02/24/2018 00:00:00

Honestly, GKG, I don\'t see why you\'re saying the fight scenes and special effects are uniformly awful and everyone who likes this movie only does so for reasons outside its quality. The fight scenes are pretty good, and so are the practical effects. Some of the CGI\'s a bit dodgy, but that\'s just CGI. Plenty of the fight scenes don\'t really use it in a distracting way, and the vast majority of the film\'s action looks great.

Frankly, that\'s what the vast majority of the reviews I\'ve seen have said. And it\'s not like people dogpiling on critics who don\'t give favorable coverage to Marvel pictures is anything new or unique to this film.

Plus, there\'re plenty of really shit movies with good fight scenes, and no one tries to say Mortal Kombat: Annihilation is a cinematic masterpiece just because it\'s got decent choreography and skilled martial artists, and the bad acting and worse storytelling don\'t matter. What the reviewer was trying to say is that he liked the storytelling more than the action, so the quality of the action didn\'t matter to him personally.

02/24/2018 00:00:00

GKG, to quote your link \" In my humble opinion, Black Panther lived up to the hype.\" (Also, attacks on reviewers who break 100 scores are not new. People threw a HUGE fit when Toy Story 3 lost it\'s 100 rating).

I don\'t know how old you are, but you\'ve got to be pretty young if you\'re suggesting Star Trek as an example of how to do special effects. Because to me, you mention Star Trek and special effects, I think of http://memory-alpha.wikia.com/wiki/Alfa_177_canine. And yet it still was the start of a sustaining cultural phenomena and the new movies fall short of it in impact.

Look, go back and read the first two words of my review. I used them for a very specific reason. I wasn\'t looking for an action movie. Clearly, you were.


Leave a Comment:

Top