Follow TV Tropes

Reviews VideoGame / Dragon Age Origins

Go To

05/15/2013 12:46:20 •••

Shite

Shite, it's just shite. The combat system is a fluster cluck of chunky abilities. The tactics all amount to kill everything using as much damage as possible and the story is not worth it for anyone with any experience with fantasy. It's like an MMO writing team tried to make a cohesive story only to fall flat on their asses. The races are pointless granting no differences in play between character, the production quality is shite beta with a despicably limited equipment set, limited number of abilities bordering on a lack of care and the combat itself is stiff and filler like. Honestly glad I borrowed the game instead of paying money for it because if I had I would choke the developers for my money.

Too shallow, annoying characters, annoying limitations, guilty of selling DLC in game that should have come with the game(given its price tag). Brown stain in some white briefs.

01/13/2011 00:00:00

No, the tactics basically amount to using your mages to paralyze everyone. And yes, the game is repetitive as hell.

01/25/2011 00:00:00

The tactics all amount to kill everything using as much damage as possible

You must be playing on a low difficulty setting. Even on Normal difficulty on the 360 version, you need to learn how to manage threat and control the battlefield with paralyzing and controlling effects or you get murdered. Going for pure damage gets your party utterly murdered.

and the story is not worth it for anyone with any experience with fantasy.

Odd, because I found it one of the most interesting and engaging I've seen in a while.

The races are pointless granting no differences in play between character,

The dwarf Templar I used on my last playthrough that basically laughed at all mages disagrees with you, on top of the fact that picking different races grants you completely different origin stories that influence events throughout the game.

the production quality is shite beta with a despicably limited equipment set

I found the production quality quite satisfactory, and the equipment set solid.

limited number of abilities bordering on a lack of care

I found the abilities quite variable, and picking and choosing which ones you have is an important part of building a character. You can't just randomly grab every ability in a particular weapon set and expect to have a warrior or rogue that is even halfway decent in battle, especially once the specializations get unlocked. This is especially true for rogues, which have a huge range of options to choose from.

the combat itself is stiff and filler like.

I enjoyed the combat myself, and didn't find it filler-like at all.

annoying characters

Odd, because I found the characters to be highly nuanced and interesting.

06/18/2011 00:00:00

Thatmust have been one hell of a drunken night you had there to form such a subjective "review". All of which you addressed here is matter of opinion. There is literally not one objective argument you brought forth to form ones own picture from, not even tangling the animousity you based your writing style on. It appears to me you just got stuck with the Ogre at the Tower of Ishal and are now retaliating against the game because you couldn't defeat that one boss.

06/18/2011 00:00:00

To Neofelis: All opinions are correct.(Unless they're stupid opinions) :P

Dragon Age has some great tactics to it. Although it is often hard as hell to get through...

I agree with what you said about the guilt Bioware and EA have of selling DLC... as if the game doesn't have almost too much content already.

06/27/2011 00:00:00

I disagree with pretty much everything you wrote here. but that said based on it I think DA 2 might fit in more with your preferences

06/28/2011 00:00:00

@Handy Handel The only opinions that are correct are opinions supported by facts. Even stupid opinions.

The main problem with the game is its repetitiveness.

07/13/2011 00:00:00

The only tactics in this game are use your mages to effortlessly nuke everything.

07/14/2011 00:00:00

3 mages + fireball and it's 10 second cooldown, or cone of cold = Death to everything.

07/15/2011 00:00:00

Mana Clash.

Everything else falls in place from there.

11/10/2011 00:00:00

Go back to playing Madden.

10/05/2012 00:00:00

Get off TV Tropes. Only clever people are allowed here.

10/05/2012 00:00:00

This review reminds me of my experiences with previous Bioware titles. I'll be giving DA a miss then.

05/15/2013 00:00:00

@manihat

I say give it a shot, atleast for the story (not plot, the story).

05/15/2013 00:00:00

This review is 2 years old and the comment you are replying to is 8 months old.


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report