Creator / Salman Rushdie

http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/salman_rushdie.jpg

Salman Rushdie is an Indian-British novelist of Muslim descent who has since settled in New York City. No scratch that, let's start from the beginning, or should it be before the beginning... or before that.

Rushdie was born in Bombay since renamed Mumbai, a name he doesn't care for. He was born in a liberal Muslim family, but in his own words, his father wasn't very religious and Rushdie very early started identifying himself as an atheist. He studied in England at Rugby College (which he chose because it was Lewis Carroll's school) and later majored in history at Cambridge University. He published his thesis on the origins and development of Islam, and found the material interesting, hoping one day to write a book on it.

After a stint in advertising, he started writing fiction. The first book was a Science Fiction novel called Grimus. His second book was the Breakthrough Hit Midnight's Children. After that, he published a little-known novel called Shame and The Jaguar Smile, a non-fiction memoir of his time in Nicaragua. In 1988, he published The Satanic Verses, which resulted in an immediate fatwa by Ayatollah Khomeini in Iran, massive protests in other countries, and the book being banned in India (despite being a secular democracy with a Hindu majority). Things got crazy when Iran-backed hitmen and assassins started attacking people close to the book, killing the Japanese translator and stabbing the Norwegian publisher. Rushdie had to go underground and live under an assumed name for nearly fifteen years of his life.

Despite this, Rushdie continued to be a public figure, often publishing non-fiction and several more books later on. He also became a TV personality, giving interviews on chat-shows on religion, culture and freedom-of-speech. As a writer, Rushdie's books are highly inspired by Thomas Pynchon, James Joyce, Luis Bu˝uel and fall in the vein of Deconstruction and Postmodernism. They are filled with Loads and Loads of Characters, Kudzu Plot, Mind Screw and Magical Realism. They are strongly satirical, are filled with Pastiche, and feature loads of puns and Interplay of Sex and Violence.

Bibliography

Fiction

Non-Fiction

  • Imaginary Homelands
  • BFI Classics: The Wizard of Oz
  • Step Across The Line
  • Joseph Anton

Children's Books

Tropes found in Rushdie's books

  • Alternate History: "The Ground Beneath Her Feet" is an alternate history of The '60s.
  • Cultural Cringe: Some of his books deals with NRI's (non-residential-Indians) having a culture shock towards India, feeling that it's too vulgar and unsophisticated. They are usually unsympathetic and soon experience Character Development while some locals reluctantly admit that he has a point.
  • Defictionalization: The song in the book, The Ground Beneath Her Feet became an actual U2 ballad.
  • Genre-Busting: His books never really occupy any single genre, much to his critics' disapproval. They can be serious 19th Century family drama, murder mystery, historical fiction, science fiction and political satire.
  • Historical-Domain Character: Many of his books tend to be partly Historical Fiction so you occassionally see actual historical figures mix with fictional characters. The most notorious is of course the fantastic section of The Satanic Verses.
  • Mood Whiplash: Expect serious melancholy reflections clash against slapstick, puerile humor. Or a scene to shift from comic to violent and vice versa.
  • My Country Tis of Thee That I Sting: Rushdie is British-Indian and he's critical of both England and India, while also appreciative of the positive characteristics of both nations. He's especially critical of religious fundamentalism (among both Hindus and Muslims) and government corruption in India.
  • No Celebrities Were Harmed: A lot of his books have subtle and not so subtle references to real-life political and literary figures in his books. His novel Shame is essentially a satire on Pakistan's government with thinly veiled expies of the Bhutto family. Then there's "The Widow" of Midnight's Children.
  • One of Us: He wrote a children's book on video games, he has also expressed fondness for superhero comics and rock music.
  • Romanticism Versus Enlightenment: Firmly on the Enlightenment side.
  • Shown Their Work: Rushdie studied history at Cambridge so his books tend to be pretty well researched and quite knowledgable about various societies. For The Enchantress of Florence, he also put a bibliography at the end for readers to reference.
  • Sophisticated as Hell: His prose can be lucid and stately but also features a lot of Precision F-Strike, Cluster F-Bomb and other 20th-21st Century slang.
  • Viewers Are Geniuses: Not afraid to discuss existentialist philosophy, quantum mechanics or arthouse films in his novels.


http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Creator/SalmanRushdie