Creator: Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie is an Indian-British novelist of Muslim descent who has since settled in New York City. No scratch that, let's start from the beginning, or should it be before the beginning...or before that.

Rushdie was born in Bombay since renamed Mumbai, a name he doesn't care for. He was born in a liberal Muslim family, but in his own words, his father wasn't very religious and Rushdie very early started identifying himself as an atheist. He studied in England at Rugby College (which he chose because it was Lewis Carroll's school) and later majored in history at Cambridge University. He published his thesis on the origins and development of Islam, and found the material interesting, hoping one day to write a book on it.

After a stint in advertising, he started writing fiction. The first book was a Science Fiction novel called, Grimus. His second book was the Breakthrough Hit and generally regarded as his Magnum Opus, Midnight's Children. After that, he published a littel known novel called Shame, a non-fiction memoir of his time in Nicaragua before publishing The Satanic Verses which resulted in an immediate fatwa by Ayatollah Khomeini in Iran, massive protests in other countries, the book being banned in India (despite being a secular democracy with a Hindu majority). Things got crazy when Iran-backed hitmen and Assassins started attacking people close to the book and ended up killing the Japanese translator and stabbing the Norwegian publisher. Rushdie had to go underground, live under an assumed name for nearly fifteen years of his life.

Despite this, Rushdie continued to be a public figure, often publishing non-fiction and several more books later on. He also became a TV personality, giving interviews on chat-shows on religion, culture and freedom-of-speech. As a writer, Rushdie's books are highly inspired by Thomas Pynchon, James Joyce, Luis Bu˝uel and fall in the vein of Deconstruction and Postmodernism. They are filled with Loads and Loads of Characters, Kudzu Plot, Mind Screw and Magical Realism. They are strongly satirical and feature loads of puns, Interplay of Sex and Violence and is filled with Pastiche.

Bibliography

Fiction

Non-Fiction

  • Imaginary Homelands
  • BFI Classics: The Wizard of Oz
  • Step Across The Line
  • Joseph Anton