Main Opinion Myopia Discussion

Collapse/Expand Topics

05:07:14 PM Jun 2nd 2014
Real life examples including on about Hilaire Belloc were removed. What was the reasoning for this? Real famous people could have reacted in shock to unexpected success of themselves or others.
01:53:24 PM Aug 25th 2013
Some years ago, I said on a message board that I dislike green peppers. One woman insisted that I should like them, apparently because she does.
12:33:26 AM Aug 8th 2013
edited by
This really should be considered for No Real Life Examples, Please! because it seems to be turning into Flame Bait and just people whining that others don't like their opinion. It's also getting dangerously "both sides are equally bad and the answer is always in the middle" with some of the stuff here, like an example I just deleted where someone was trying to suggest that LGBTQ people not respecting people who oppose their equality somehow is Opinion Myopia.
08:24:15 PM Apr 18th 2012
I'm just curious, any sarcasm or irony you might read into this is completely your own projecting, if anyone actually CARES about what other people think about them, barring close friends/family. Who gives a rat's butt what random people on the internet think about your social/economical/sexual/political choices/ideas/concepts?
05:12:27 PM Jul 1st 2012
In this day and age, where much of human progress is measured by social contact and fame/popularity, and every second person seems to have serious self-esteem issues? Far too many people, is your answer.
02:41:36 PM Jul 25th 2011
Should this hae a Troper's Tales page?
03:42:45 AM Jun 22nd 2011
Does this trope really need a Real Life section anyway? It just seems like kindle for a Flame War. And most of the examples are just people whining about how no one understands their opinion.
09:05:24 PM Oct 22nd 2010
I think it should be noted that the reason people get so myopic is that patterns have such a tendency to appear, misleading as they may be, and give one such a strong impression of consistency.. That is, you think "everyone feels this way" because so goddamn many people that do happen to have been part of your experience. If everything were representative and.. er.. homogenized... well we might have trouble having any opinions at all mightn't we.. Y'know, it's like those optical illusions where you stare at an image a while so your retina will have the negative.
09:30:02 AM Oct 23rd 2010
You can add that to the description. Just keep in mind this isn't just the myopia, but the inability to accept others not having that opinion.
07:38:25 AM Jul 20th 2011
Yeah I can't think of a good way to word it.. I was hoping someone had a psychology report that stated something to that effect.
03:57:51 PM Mar 14th 2010
  • Anything at all having to do with Religion.
    • Going in any direction.
Because there are many, many people who practice one religion and respect practitioners of another. If someone could tactfully reword this about how religion is particularly prone to this, then sure, but not all religion is evil.
12:19:48 PM Apr 12th 2010
I don't know how you got "all religion is evil" out of that. All the sentence said was that you can find examples of this thinking in any religion.
03:54:46 AM Dec 30th 2010
No, the sentence currently says 'Religion. In any direction. That is all.'

That implies all religious people suffer from this, which is not only untrue, but quite insulting as a religious person who doesn't fit under this trope.

I'll edit that one to read that examples of this happen in every religion or world-view.
06:49:42 AM May 2nd 2014
edited by
It also implies that ONLY religious people suffer from this. In reality, there's no shortage of atheists who are condescending and intolerant toward anyone who has any religious beliefs. I'm an atheist myself, and I'm embarrassed by the arrogant smugness of some of them.

Perhaps the original example should have said something like: "The belief that your particular set of religious beliefs (or lack of them) makes you morally or mentally superior to everyone who doesn't share those beliefs."
07:43:46 AM May 2nd 2014
"In any direction" means to include both religious people and nonreligious people. I.e., there's opinion myopia on the religious side, and on the atheistic side, toward religion.
Collapse/Expand Topics