Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Literature / The Dresden Files

Go To

12/22/2012 10:46:12 •••

Dresdenthirst!

HEY! Do you wanna feel SO MAGICAL? Try The Dresden Files! It's a series for people who need GRATUITOUS AMOUNTS OF MAGIC. With all new volumes like TURN COAT! It's like adding detective fiction to A MAGICAL STORM. Sound the alarm! You're gonna be UNCOMFORTABLY EXCITED! What's that? You want something for summer nights? Well how about SUMMER KNIGHT? Made with magic! REAL MAGIC! Reading! AAAAAH You'll be good at it! It's an urban fantasy series for men! TIT-ERATURE! These aren't your dad's puns, these are magical puns! DRESDEN PUNS. Urban! Fantasy! Urban! Fantasy! Fire magic! Wind magic! Demonic magic! More magic than YOUR LIBRARY HAS ROOM FOR. You'll be reading so fast that everyone else will be like SLOOOOOW DOOOOOOWN and you'll be like FUCK YOU! And smack them in the face with your FANTASY BOOK. It's full of so much magic! Magic! Casting spells ALL THE TIME! Magic running! Magic potions! Magic fighting! Magic shooting! Magic duels! Magic sarcasm! Magic reading chapters! You'll read so many chapters! FOUR HUNDRED CHAPTERS. Give The Dresden Files to your children and they'll start reading BOOKS! Make your children read ABNORMALLY FAST. They'll read as fast as LIBRARIANS! People will see them reading and think they're LIBRARIANS! They'll read as fast as LIBRARIANS alongside actual LIBRARIANS and there'll be so many books they'll go back to THE LIBRARY. Hey! Go with the sure thing! Don't gamble on your literature! DREEESSSDEEEEEN! Try The Dresden Files! The book series that will make you AAAAAAH BOOKS AAAAAAH

But seriously, ever since a friend loaned me the first volume of The Dresden Files and I read the entire thing in one night, I've loved this series. The characters are interesting, the plot twists are exciting, the inner monologues are hard-boiled and badass, and the series as a whole is just great. The first two volumes aren't the best, but the series really comes into its own around the third or fourth book, and it only continues to go uphill from there. If you're a fan of urban fantasy, a fan of detective fiction, or just a fan of books in general, I wholeheartedly recommend The Dresden Files.

11/20/2009 00:00:00

Best.

Review.

Ever.

11/21/2009 00:00:00

The depth of the analysis is truly remarkable.

11/22/2009 00:00:00

Wasn't going for in-depth analysis. I aim simply to amuse.

12/26/2009 00:00:00

Pardon me while I send this to every Dresden fan I know. Beautiful. <3

  • Sunshine

05/05/2010 00:00:00

This review made my night. I love this series so much!!!

05/06/2010 00:00:00

Try "the Dresden Files" TV series. They do a decent job of sticking to some of the book story lines, although there aren't that many episodes.

05/07/2010 00:00:00

Person who posted on May 5th: Glad you liked it. Last person to post: I've seen a few of the episodes of the show, and I wasn't terribly impressed. They're not bad, but they pale in comparison to the books.

05/08/2010 00:00:00

Wonderful review! Were you thinking of the Powerthirst joke ads?

05/08/2010 00:00:00

That's precisely what I was thinking of. I was watching the first one and just decided I'd do a parody of it for the Dresden Files.

05/13/2010 00:00:00

Wow. That is amazing. I love it

05/15/2010 00:00:00

Sorry you feel that way.

06/07/2010 00:00:00

awesome, man. I'm going to go check The Desden files out now. I'd heard of the series before, but your powerDresdenThirst review is what made me really want to go read it.

06/07/2010 00:00:00

awesome, man. I'm going to go check The Desden files out now. I'd heard of the series before, but your powerDresdenThirst review is what made me really want to go read it.

06/07/2010 00:00:00

sorry for the double post, guys.

07/06/2010 00:00:00

i agree. totally awesome book series, and not just for guys. there is a definite character progression through the books, and not all of the changes are for the better. dresden does what he has to do, tho, to save the world, and some of the consequences are positively heartrending, especially in the lastest book. it is a progression, tho, and you have to read the earlier books to make any sense of the later ones. definite must read for anyone.

07/13/2010 00:00:00

HARRY DRESDEN IS MY SECRET LOVER!! um.. I mean.. I LOVE these books. Definitely the best books I ever read, and I've read a LOT... and I mean a LOT of books....

07/14/2010 00:00:00

The author is watching..... I love these books as well; Dresden series is my favorite series since Rex Stout's books.

08/27/2010 00:00:00

Just started this series proper, but unrelated to that I just wanted to say that this review is the greatest ever, ever.

08/28/2010 00:00:00

What, nothing about turkey missiles and donuts? And girls enjoy it as much as guys too. XD

Love this series. *hugs the books*

12/07/2010 00:00:00

Fun fact of the day: when Turn Coat came out, the series had 437 chapters. Pretty close for taking the number from a fake commercial. Other than, this is basically spot-on.

12/07/2010 00:00:00

That's it, this review put me over the edge... TO THE LIBRARY! to look LIKE A LIBRARIAN! reading these (presumedly) AWESOME BOOKS!!! (one, one, one....)

05/25/2011 00:00:00

This is the best review ever. Of all time.

11/27/2011 00:00:00

I read this review while Powerthirst 2 was on in the background. That made it even funnier.

04/10/2012 00:00:00

At first I thought this was a sarcastic review, but then I got to the second line and suddenly it clicked what you were referencing, and I started laughing my ass off.

EPIC.

07/02/2012 00:00:00

I like how someone sarcastically made a comment about "in depth analysis". The same guy who read two books in the series then wrote a review.

Great review, there are very few methods by which one can convey the awesomeness that is the Dresden Files.

And to the commenter who referenced Agent Washington...thank you.

12/22/2012 00:00:00

Is this the Dresden Files or the brawnco add from Idiocracy?


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report