Follow TV Tropes

Reviews Film / The Rise Of Skywalker

Go To

01/12/2020 20:17:43 •••

The perfect sequal to The Last Jedi *no spoilers*

It was weird, goofy, ridiculous and pissed people off. But it was extremely subversive and no one expected a film like this, especially fans of The Last Jedi waiting on a sequal.

It also take's Rey's character to a suitably subversive place, even if the audience and critics won't be satisfied with it and it didn't really make sense.

Rian Johnson himself said that catering to fans is a mistake and they should be challenged, so there is no reason for him to be unhappy with this sequal.

Edit “I think approaching any creative process with [making fandoms happy] would be a mistake that would lead to probably the exact opposite result,” Johnson said. “Even my experience as a fan, you know if I’m coming into something, even if it’s something that I think I want, if I see exactly what I think I want on the screen, it’s like ‘oh, okay,’ it might make me smile and make me feel neutral about the thing and I won’t really think about it afterwards, but that’s not really going to satisfy me.”

Johnson added, “I want to be shocked, I want to be surprised, I want to be thrown off-guard, I want to have things recontextualized, I want to be challenged as a fan when I sit down in the theater…What I’m aiming for every time I sit down in a theater is to have the experience [I had] with ‘Empire Strikes Back,’ something that’s emotionally resonant and feels like it connects up and makes sense and really gets to the heart of what this thing is and in a way that I never could have seen coming.”

So for all its flaws, for all it may leave the viewer scratching their head or unsatisfied or finding parts of the film completely implausible, Rise is truly the perfect sequal to TLJ ad Rian couldn't have done any better himself

12/18/2019 00:00:00

Might want to fix the typos. And why's this flagged? Why the insults?

12/18/2019 00:00:00

So... you didn\'t like it, but felt the need to spend your time insulting the previous film instead?

12/18/2019 00:00:00

So, what? Star Wars has multiple directors since the days of OT. It\'s never been Rian Johnson\'s franchise.

12/19/2019 00:00:00

I will say I find this trend of directors/writers/etc. saying their films isn't for the fans and talking about subversion and the unexpected to try and justify their bullshit, to be rather low. Specially considering the one who started it was Uwe Boll.

12/19/2019 00:00:00

Johnson actually said that? Huh, no wonder TLJ follows ESB even more closely than TFA does ANH, though something tells me that that wasn't what he was trying to convey with his words...

Why is this flagged?

12/20/2019 00:00:00

If I recall, Johnson actually said it wasn`t a good idea to indulge fan theories or make a film to ``make the fans happy``, because at best you end up with something positive but unsatisfying and unchallenging. He's still making a movie for the fans, he`s just recognising that fans don`t always have very good ideas on how to handle a story. Basically, The Force Awakens and (from what I hear) Rise of Skywalker run into this exact problem of over-prioritising fan service and playing it too safe.

12/20/2019 00:00:00

... as opposed to the last jedi, whose plot could be described using the same words as ESB, almost to the letter?

He's a good director (knives out is pretty good and Looper is one of my favorite movies), and that's ultimately what matters, but he's clearly a hypocrite.

01/12/2020 00:00:00

So you're saying the film's nature is fitting because it's unsatisfying to fans who liked the direction of TLJ, even though that film has detractors for how it continues from TFA? You're saying fans of TLJ deserve to be disappointed here because they liked that film? Huh?

This review basically says "this movie is flawed and poorly-written, but that's automatically a good thing because nobody expected/wanted it". I assume this is sarcastic, and if so, that's a very shallow understanding of why people enjoyed TLJ. I have yet to find any fan argue for the writing quality of TROS' weird twists and turns, and I've never heard anyone call it "subversive". Most complaints are that it fails to continue the direction of TLJ and walks back the story to feel more like a sequel to only TFA. I'd hardly call that subversive. That's pretty much the opposite.

(Not to say I despise the film. I'm just disappointed by its fundamentals.)


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report