Follow TV Tropes

Reviews VideoGame / Resident Evil 2

Go To

02/03/2019 06:41:29

R E2make: Mechanically Strong, Spiritually Weak Flagged

Unlike most on the internet, I will not be gushing over the 2019 remake of Resident Evil 2. Mechanically, it's an extremely solid game, which plenty of other reviews will talk about in length. But is it a satisfying remake? I would say not.

The story is atrocious. Yes, the same basic ideas of the original story are present, but whereas the first RE 2 told a pair of complete stories through the use of its zapping system and interlinked Character 1 A and Character 2 B stories, the remake tells the same story twice with minimal changes. Literally the only differences between Leon and Claire's story, aside from cosmetic changes to their interactions with Marvin, are the final bosses they fight, the brief side-character segment associated with them, and who is on which side during the three scenes where they interact in the game; at the doors of the gas station, at the locked gate on the eastern side of the RPD, and on the other ends of a monitor screen before the final boss fight.

2nd Run is even worse, because story-wise it just gives you a stripped down version of the chosen character's story mode. Capcom should have either brought back and embraced the zapping system & A/B scenarios, or stuck to their guns and made each character's campaign entirely separate. This lame attempt to appease both sides fails to appease either.

But my biggest complaint is related not to the mechanics, but to the very spirit of the game. In trying to pursue a "realistic" game, Capcom has abandoned the very essence of Resident Evil, which was always a B-movie style horror-action world. Even in Resident Evil, you still had enough ordinance to fight the battles that mattered, and were facing off against such unrealistic, unnatural creatures as genetically engineered bug-men and Lizard Folk, zombie sharks, Giant Spiders and a Man-Eating Plant. "Realism" isn't Resident Evil's thing, and shouldn't be - that's what games like The Walking Dead are for. Instead, Capcom's cut some enemies and changed others for the sake of "realism".

R E2make is a decent enough Survival Horror game. But as a remake? It could have been much better. Resident Evil 6 is a better successor to the RE heritage than this.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

You\'re review is complete garbage.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

LOL, Resident Evil 6 is garbage. Just another action fan salty that you aint going to get shit. You\'re garbage games are going to be forgotten and nobody gives a shit.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

\"Old is better, new sucks\" I hope to god this is a troll review.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

And explain to us how the fuck is removing TWO enemies in the game, destroying Resident Evil\'s spirit. Everything else is still there. This is a troll review.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

Why is this review flagged? Perhaps the opinion being expressed is controversial, but the reviewer actually explains what they don\'t like about the game and why in order to support said opinion. That\'s more than I can say for the other two reviews of the remake posted so far.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

It\'s trash because it makes no sense and is clearly a troll review.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

A troll review is not \"a review I don\'t agree with\".

02/02/2019 00:00:00

While I haven\'t played this game, I will say even RE 7 had over the top enemies.

02/02/2019 00:00:00

I admit, I agree more with the positive reviews than the negative. But Valiona is right, that this reviewer is being treated quite shabbily for having a dissenting opinion, and the existing reviews are not very useful or of high quality.

02/03/2019 00:00:00

I agree that missing monsters from re2 like spiders and giant moth is a bad thing which is my only con about the game ( crows arent memorable btw. ) but ı dont think the game\'s story is atrocious. I think it\'s somewhat improved compared to og re2. I\'m aware that the scenarios connect each other less compared to re2 ( annette\'s death is an example of this. ) but re2\'s a and b scenarios also had some disconnections from each other. Although ı must say that even though ı really liked marvin in this which ı consider an improvement from og re2, ı think his reply to leon ( This isnt a con imo. ) ( His meeting with claire doesnt make sense cause her reply to him makes her sound like she doesnt give a damn about searching chris, which defeats the entire purpose of recv. ) is weird. Like he says \" Not a clue. \" which is a contradiction, especially if you read his diary in re:of2. Anyways, ı recommend taking og marvin more canon over the new one due to this. Other than missing enemies, this is a good remake imo. Liked everything else, gameplay, story, characters, atmosphere etc. ı can go on.

Also what\'s with this nonsense of these 2 toxic users spouting from their mouth? \" Uhuhuh capcom doesnt care about action anymore, re5 and re6 suck uhuhuh, oh and re4 is fantastic btw. \" That\'s why they released not a hero and end of zoe dlcs for re7 as well as the vendetta cgi movie then, yeah you 2 toxics\' statements and reviews make %100 sense. Re 5 and re6 are also good re games just like how re4 is a good re game. You guys need to play reorc and umbrella corps, that\'s what you are looking for.

02/03/2019 00:00:00

The zapping system is frankly overrated because the things it influences are so specific that nobody would ever take the alternative options. Of course a player\'s gonna kill Marvin. Of course you don\'t use the BOW gas because it makes the Ivies bullshit in the B route. Of course you blow up the gator so the second player doesn\'t have to worry about it.

It certainly would have been nice if your 2nd Run character got to explore that other region of the lab, but the base product is extremely polished. Up to the end of the game, you are going to be dreading every encounter with enemies, which is more than can be said about the original. Mr. X went from being a punching bag you\'d beat up for more ammo than you spent on him into being a relentless pursuer that the game knew when to back off with. Ivies, Zombies, and Lickers went from just a thing you shot safely or ran away from into becoming significant obstacles that each require you to approach them in a different way.


Leave a Comment:

Top