Follow TV Tropes

Reviews WebAnimation / RWBY

Go To

04/29/2018 09:37:31 •••

Great Story, Worst Writers

Before I fully tell my Review, i'll say that I will be centering on the writing only.

The Writing in RWBY started alright. Most stories begin with the character introduction and the world building but RWBY suffers almost a lack of such things. World Building only appeared at the start and at the end of Volume 1. Character introduction was alright but god did the writing just turn bad. Sometimes the characters can be just plain idiots. Also, the way on how the teams were to be formed was stupid. Volume 1 had a nice start but was filled with a lot of filler, especially the Arc centering on Jaune.

Volume 2 was disappointing, Volume 1 was better. More filler, Teen melodrama that no one gives a shit, awesome fight scenes except for when RWBY when against the mech. The way that was handled was ridiculous along with the strategy that they did in order to defeat the mech. Sending teenagers to a very important and dangerous mission again shows how much plot destroys logic in this. Another thing that happened in Volume 2 at the end was a large amount of forced coincidence that happened in order to move the plot.

Volume 3 was supposed to be good. It was centered as a Tournament Arc and because of it, the writers can easily put fight scenes because it is organized. But even something that RWBY excelled at failed when it was its time to shine. A lot of wasted motions, bad choreography and were they trying to retcon the series or what. Volume 3 pretty much just continued the downward spiral of the series with just how things were handled.

And Finally Volume 4 or Volume 1 to be exact considering the fact that things are finally moving. And what happens in Volume 4 just continues to fuck everything up. Date and Time in RWBY is very confusing considering the fact that the "writers" have established no form of timeline. Also Volume 4 is when Jaune became the main character. Really? God damn, Writer's Pet much.

Another thing that Volume 4 continued to fuck up is the way on how Aura is written in the show. Its not used like a tool to tell a story but they only use in order to remind the audience the fact that these people can get hurt.

There is no overall consequence in this world. Sure Pyrrha and Amber died but in a world like this, it should show just how terrible the world is. Just look at Attack on Titan, Tokyo Ghoul or even other with monsters. It shows what if feels like to be the people who go against this monsters and just how terrible it can be.

Watching RWBY and then hearing the comments of Miles and Kerry is terrible. They are pretty much contradicting on what they say and do. I don't even know why Monty chose them to be writers for the show. Also when Monty said that they won't do the dumbshit that anime does, that's another contradiction that happens.

It just feels like when it was being created, the writers thought that they write an anime instead of write a story.

10/25/2017 00:00:00

Do you think there is still any redeeming value about the show?

10/25/2017 00:00:00

Sending teenagers to a very important and dangerous mission again shows how much plot destroys logic in this.

The same can be said for shounen, in general, and many western works because many of them feature teenagers as the protagonists. For example: Power Rangers, Kim Possible, Avatar, Teen Titans, and Young Justice.

That said, it's usually because those teenagers have superpowers that make them more capable than the adults of their respective canons. At other times, the adults may feel that their own time as the defenders of the peace has past, so they've left things to the newer generation of heroes. Both apply equally to RWBY. The show even discusses whether it's right for the faculty at Beacon to burden their students with the responsibility.

  • Qrowe feels that they shouldn't, because Ruby and her friends aren't aware (yet) of what they're really signing up for, and Ozpin isn't telling them, because he feels the situation can't be helped.
  • Cinder even used the Vytal Tournament as a platform to criticize the faculty at Beacon for training (quote): "child soldiers to fight their battles".

and were they trying to retcon the series or what

Such as...? Because bad fight choreography (which is subjective) doesn't count as a retcon.

There is no overall consequence in this world.

Did we watch the same show? 'cuz: Pyrrha, Penny, Amber, and Torchwick are all confirmed dead. Ozpin is MIA and presumed dead, Qrowe was last seen poisoned, and Beacon Academy has fallen. If none of that counts as lasting consequences, then what does?

10/25/2017 00:00:00

The B in RWBY stands for \'Bad\'.

10/25/2017 00:00:00

Another reason to never watch the show. Glad I didn\'t even waste my time on such low-levels quality of a show. Things like these make me proud watching If the Emperor Had a Text-to-Speech Device over this.

10/26/2017 00:00:00

To thatboy

For me, nothing. Even as I wait for Volume 5 to have all of its episodes released, I am already hearing a large number of disappointing complaints even with those who have like the show. The action maybe but just relying on one thing to keep a show alive won't last long and become boring.

To Miinu

The retcon I am talking about comes from the words spoken by both Pyrrha, Blake and Cinder during Volume 3. Pyrhha said about the tournament of no longer fighting murderers but since when did Team JNPR actually fought any murderer. Blake also said Grimm Invasions, sociopaths and extremists. So there more than just one Invasion, also when did JNPR ever fought in sociopath or extremists? Cinder during her announcement after the battle between Pyrrha and Penny where she said on how Ozpin failed protecting Vale during the Grimm Invasion. Was that really a failure? It was practically his students and staff that did most of the work in eliminating the Grimms.

I guess you can say that yeah they died but they died because of plot. Pyrrha's death was for the show to reveal Deus Ex Machina Silver Eyes, Penny was to start Cinder's plan but she's a robot, there is still a possible way for her to be brought back, Amber's death wasn't really that impact-full as the only reason she was ever introduce is to reveal the Maidens, Ozpin is already semi-alive, the only reason for Qrow to be poisoned is for him not to curb-stomp the Nuckelavee and allow the characters, especially Ren, to have some character growth.

10/26/2017 00:00:00

For me, nothing. Even as I wait for Volume 5 to have all of its episodes released, I am already hearing a large number of disappointing complaints even with those who have like the show. The action maybe but just relying on one thing to keep a show alive won\'t last long and become boring.

Funny on a lot of the sites I\'m on people seem to like v5 so far

The retcon I am talking about comes from the words spoken by both Pyrrha, Blake and Cinder during Volume 3. Pyrhha said about the tournament of no longer fighting murderers but since when did Team JNPR actually fought any murderer. Blake also said Grimm Invasions, sociopaths and extremists. So there more than just one Invasion, also when did JNPR ever fought in sociopath or extremists? Cinder during her announcement after the battle between Pyrrha and Penny where she said on how Ozpin failed protecting Vale during the Grimm Invasion. Was that really a failure? It was practically his students and staff that did most of the work in eliminating the Grimms.

1. That was just a throwaway line... your honestly going to let that ruin your enjoyment of something 2. A lot of people will believe any statement regardless of the logic behind it. If that wasn\'t the case then Infowars probably wouldn\'t exist.

1. It was also for other purposes such as to further Jaune\'s development (though to be fair their is a legitimate argument to be made that this is problematic writing), to remove one of the most powerful characters so far off of the board, to show that the villains were a serious threat, to give of the feeling that no one is safe and make us fear for the characters and hope they pull through, and to show that maybe training teenagers to fight evil isn\'t the best idea 2. Penny\'s death was to start the process of turning the kingdoms against each other and possibly also what caused the buildup to Ruby unleashing the silver eyes. 3. Ok I kind of agree with this since it was very obvious from day one she would die but it resulted in Cinder gaining one fourth of the Maiden powers. 4. I really can\'t deal dispute this since he is semi alive but most people assumed that he would show up again in some capacity 5. For all you know the poison has only gone into remission and might bite him in the ass later down the line. Also what exactly is bad about character growth?

10/26/2017 00:00:00

To Thepanopticon

Yeah, I'll admit that my review has problems. Of course people will still like a show despite the problems, im just saying that there are also those people that have long lost interest.

1. I just noticed those things during my second viewing of RWBY. It just gave me questions and i thought that maybe i missed something during those talks.

1. Yeah what you said is right. The only problem i had with Jaune's development is that it seems that its taking too long, the show had literally 3 volumes and yet Jaune's hasn't developed much. I kinda expected that after what he experienced, he would atleast take being a huntsman serious. But that's just me.

2. Agree to that.

3. I just feel that her character was a waste. Sure it showed the power of a maiden but despite someone being revered as all powerful, she was kinda disappointing.

4. Ozpin had too much mystery for him to die anyways.

5. For the poison maybe but its hard to see if the poison will really return or has some lasting side effects despite Qrow being safe. Its just with the way on how the story is going, I think the poison problem was already solved. Character growth isn't bad, but it can be if the way on how it is handled is terrible.

Also an addition for my review, for a society that fights against creatures that are attracted to negative emotions. Won't the existence of a fighting tournament broad casted around the world be a problem? I mean, are injuries and maybe death really that rare for something that is annually done and has lasted this long?

Anyways, thanks for commenting.

10/26/2017 00:00:00

Also an addition for my review, for a society that fights against creatures that are attracted to negative emotions. Won\'t the existence of a fighting tournament broad casted around the world be a problem? I mean, are injuries and maybe death really that rare for something that is annually done and has lasted this long?

It\'s basically a sporting event to celebrate the champions of remnant no different than the Olympics.

As for most serious injuries before the events of the series most of them were probably accidental and wouldn\'t cause enough upset to attract that many Grimm. The reason the Mercury \"injury\" got people all riled up was that to them it appeared that Yang just assaulted a guy for no reason. And as for death... do you still think they would hold the tournament if deaths had happened before.

10/26/2017 00:00:00

Blake also said Grimm invasions, sciopaths, and extremists.

If you're referring to the scene that I think you are, she was talking about what the White Fang fang had become and why she was no longer with them. They used to be a non-violent protest group on behalf of their fellow Faunus, but that gradually changed once Adam took over. Blake said that under his leadership, they became a group of extremists, who are now considered terrorists.

The fact that Adam has allied the White Fang with Cinder and took part in the attack on Beacon Academy solidified her point.

Penny was to start Cinder's plan, but she's a robot. There is still a possible way for her to be brought back.

Perhaps, though I wouldn't count on it. The implication seemed to be that Penny was unique, unlike the Atlases which were mass produced. Further implicated by the fact that her grandfather and Ironwood were both adamant about keeping Penny under wraps.

I can't say for certain, but I get the impression that they can't simply hammer out a new body for her. The expected outcome is that they'd simply rebuild her, because she's a gynoid. But to make her death as impactful and personal as possible to Ruby, I'm thinking the answer is gonna be "it's for keeps".

for a society that fights against creatures attracted to negative emotions, won't the existence of a fighting tournament broadcast around the world be a problem?

No, because there's a world of difference between friendly competition and actual conflict. As Thepanopticon said, it's like their version of the Olympics.

10/26/2017 00:00:00

To Thepanopticon and Miin U

Yeah that was what i thought but the question was still there to me

10/28/2017 00:00:00

I was curious as to why you dislike the show so much, and ended up getting spoiled about several characters\' deaths. Guess I\'m not watching RWBY any time soon.

Whether you did me a favor or not is debatable, but I still think it was pretty annoying. People use reviews on this site to preach their opinions of a thing to other fans, but I still think it\'s a good rule of thumb to write a review as if you\'re expecting newcomers to see what you have to say. Spoiler-texting character deaths is a small detail that goes a long way. Now I know about a character dying who I actually knew by name, because I have friends who\'ve talked about RWBY in the past. Thanks a lot.

10/28/2017 00:00:00

This is the internet mate. Prepared to get spoiled in almost every corner of the internet. Moreso here, where many people are obliged to either spill the beans or just keep things a secret. Plus, does Pyrrha\'s death matter? Considering almost everyone knows it by now?

Heck, I got spoiled to the ending of The Witcher 3 in regards to Ciri\'s fate at the end of the game, and even got more spoiled this year on Game of Thrones Season 7. Expect yourself to get spoiled, whether you like it or not.

10/29/2017 00:00:00

@MrMallard: I have to agree with MeeMaggot, reading and discussing reviews always carries a high probability of including spoilers; especially since certain points of the review are likely to be debated in the comments section.

03/20/2018 00:00:00

Volume 4 and 5 are the best most well written season.

The rest are shit.

04/29/2018 00:00:00

@Ultimatetrooper, you mean Volume 3 is the best written. Volume 5 is the second worst volume, but only because Volume 1 lacked screentime and couldn\'t carry more than 1 arc at a time


Leave a Comment:

Top