Follow TV Tropes

Reviews WesternAnimation / Sixteen

Go To

05/06/2020 09:04:02 •••

Inexcusable Garbage

Oh God, where to begin with 6teen? It's awful, but I might as well start with the most striking flaw.

The art and animation are, to put it lightly, are hideous. It attempts to invoke a stylish and sleek aesthetic that is both easy to animate and nice to look at. It accomplishes only the former.

It is lazy, inexpressive, incredibly ugly, and the kind of shit you'd expect from a webcomic like Laws 4 Kids. This is the crap that Kricfalusi saw in his nightmares.

Now, the characters. They're almost as bad; they're all unlikable caricatures of archetypes. A Casanova Wannabe, a token black Only Sane Man, a Goth, a rich girl, so on, so forth.

Except that they don't represent anything; they are anti-characters, so to speak. For example, most of Nikki's character is that she hates the Khaki Barn employees... because they're plucky and annoying! Except she represents a similar debasement: of goths.

It's like they took a person who had a goth phase or merely has an interest in the subject and wears black makeup and clothes sometimes and completely erased their actual person into a vague form of a boring, repetetive, overdone last-ditch effort because the writers couldn't come up with the third girl to have a gender equal main cast.

See? She's snarky and withdrawn! She just needs a nice guy to help her, which eventually happens, because those aren't genuine traits that people have!

Except the entire cast was written using this "method".

But that isn't the worst. The creepy Fanservice, I could accept. The awful soundtrack, I could tolerate. The boring, unfleshed out background characters, I could bare.

But the straw that broke the camel's back, tore of one of its hind legs, and beat it to death... no, it wasn't the episode where the entire cast dies - the only thing that could redeem this bullshit but it turned out to be All Just a Dream.. no.

It was comparing Radiohead, our lord and savior, to Coldplay. Cold. Play. That's like comparing Beethoven to Drake. Just no. Nope.

Yet it also represents a similar debasement of culture, that 6teen encapsulates and perfectly emulates. Perhaps that was the point? A massive social experiment on Canadian children? Maybe.

But as a bottom line, stay away from this trash. It's awful, in literally every way. Or at least most.

02/18/2015 00:00:00

"It was comparing Radiohead, our lord and savior, to Coldplay. Cold. Play."

Coldplay > Radiohead.

Just saying.

02/19/2015 00:00:00

Who are Radiohead, Coldplay and Drake?

02/19/2015 00:00:00

Radiohead's okay. not the best. Kinda average.

02/19/2015 00:00:00

These comments are hilarious.

Never stop.

02/19/2015 00:00:00

By the way my comment was't meant to imply that I don't like Radiohead. I think Radiohead is great as well, just not as consistent as Coldplay. I love all six Coldplay studio albums. But the Radiohead albums "In Rainbows" and especially "Amnesiac" I can't get into. "OK Computer" and "Kid A" are really great. "Pablo Honey" and "The Bends" are also good albums, and the other two aren't bad either. In fact, I was really surprised by "Hail To The Thief" because I thought it would be like "Amnesiac" all over again (empty, boring, lacking in production, etc.) but it was actually rather engaging and a big improvement on it. And "The King Of Limbs" was like the sequel to "Kid A" that "Amnesiac" should have been. I really hope they return to their original style from 1993-1999 for their next album, though. At least for one album.

But Coldplay knocks Radiohead right out of the ballpark to my ears. You think Coldplay sucks? Fine, your loss. ;)

I also love Muse, another band which people are for some reason not allowed to like if you also like Radiohead. And yes, I know this comment has almost nothing to do with the original review but it's more interesting than talking about some show called "6teen".

03/14/2015 00:00:00

Oh yeah, 6teen is boring. On other news, Coldplay is totally my childhood.

07/25/2015 00:00:00

Call me crazy if you want but that show was my childhood when I was a kid, sure all of you guys only grew up with the early age of The Simpsons and ATLA but I like this along with di-gata defender and the first season of TDA (before the seasons where shit).

06/03/2016 00:00:00

It\'s a show about teens in a mall. Not a fucking holocaust.

03/10/2017 00:00:00

I really liked this series when I was younger. I thought it was pretty good. I thought the art style was decent and I thought the characters, while not original, were likable enough. I feel like this review is really over exaggerating the flaws this series has and trying way too hard to be angry. I don\'t agree with this review at all.

09/05/2018 00:00:00

This show is just average. All of John Kricfalusi\'s work is a nightmare that should never have seen the light of day.

05/06/2020 00:00:00

Huh, same guy behind that equally asinine Total Drama review. Why am I not surprised? It\'s so obvious the guy is just some hardcore \"Murica\" 90s kid who hates all Canadian cartoons (and possibly Canada in general) and will do anything he can to demonize an entire nation\'s animation. Imagine if he was using the same kind of language to address non-western nations\' animation...


Leave a Comment:

Top

How well does it match the trope?

Example of:

/

Media sources:

/

Report