Follow TV Tropes

Reviews WesternAnimation / Phineas And Ferb

Go To

05/16/2018 05:50:49 •••

Overrated as hell

I understand that Phineas and Ferb is supposed to have a Strictly Formula. I have laughed at some of the jokes and I think the show is, at best, OK. But it doesn't deserve even half of the attention it got; at all.

I've seen people on the internet comparing P&F to classics like Wile E Coyote And The Road runner saying that they have similar styles, and that comparison makes sense. But let's be clear, Nostalgia Goggles aside: The Roadrunner is vastly superior. Why? I'll tell you in a minute.

People compare the two based on the fact that every episode has a Foregone Conclusion: the protagonists will either fail or succeed every time. But The Roadrunner, instead of just bending and twisting the formula, gave the viewer new ideas and contraptions every episode, and because of that, even though you knew the thing was going to backfire at some point, you wanted to see exactly HOW it was gonna backfire, and it was strangely unpredictable. Trying to summarize an episode of the The Roadrunner is something like this: Coyote wants Roadrunner, Coyote prepares trap, said trap goes wrong. That formula is very flexible and allows a great deal of imagination.

The formula shown in P&F however, is too stiff to provide entertainment after it's memorized. Not only that, but the writers don't twist it as often as fans say they do. You know how the invention is going to be destroyed, you know what's going to destroy it, you know even what the characters are going to say just before they say it, and it's just too tiresome to be funny after the first 5 times. Also the Running Gags and catchphrases only go so far; I can't stand hearing the same things over and over, and the jokes don't get any funnier. If anything, they just add more to the boring aspects of this supposedly "witty and humourous" writing.

06/01/2013 00:00:00

I agree with you 100%

06/08/2013 00:00:00

Well, a disagree, but to each his own.

06/09/2013 00:00:00

Actually, I don't think most people are overly fond of Hell. If anything it's underrated.

I disagree on most of your points—namely, at least one element is subverted every episode these days, and if the fun for you is seeing how each short's device will backfire P&F has two devices each week to the Coyote's one. But hey, if you don't find it funny, you don't find it funny, and that's okay. Humor is subjective like that.

06/19/2013 00:00:00

Wow, I'm surprised to see these comments. I was expecting a lot of hate; people think I'm a troll because I present arguments in an unintentionally provocative way. Thanks guys.

PD: Wackd, I said that Hell is overrated cause it's an expression my father taught me a long time ago, I said it for no reason xD

06/19/2013 00:00:00

Yeah, "overrated as hell" works. "Overrated as hell itself" makes it seem like you're talking about the place and not just using it as a swear.

08/28/2013 00:00:00

What's with the negative reception of Phineas and Ferb lately? People used to love it but it has turned into one big Scrappy of animation.

I honestly don't think this show is overrated because I see alot more people hating on this show than liking it.

08/28/2013 00:00:00

(But I accept your opinion. I just don't understand how everybody went from loving it to despising it)

08/29/2013 00:00:00

Shift of opinion isn't always because of people changing their mind, it's often because of new viewers.

03/07/2014 00:00:00

"The formula shown in P&F however, is too stiff to provide entertainment after it's memorized. Not only that, but the writers don't twist it as often as fans say they do. You know how the invention is going to be destroyed, you know what's going to destroy it, you know even what the characters are going to say just before they say it, and it's just too tiresome to be funny after the first 5 times. Also the Running Gags and catchphrases only go so far; I can't stand hearing the same things over and over, and the jokes don't get any funnier. If anything, they just add more to the boring aspects of this supposedly "witty and humourous" writing."

Actually more recently, alot of people complain about the show's formula to the point of where they say it's the most repetitive and boring cartoon ever made (Which IMO is not true as there are more formula driven and boring shows than Pn F. If Pn F was as repetitive and as boring as the detractors say, I wouldn't have even gotten interested in the show in the first place. It's actually the original hype for the show that got me into it) . As a fan I don't think it's as repetitive as people are saying, honestly I didn't even think about the "repetition" until many people online pointed it out. Realistically I think the reason why people don't like Phineas and Ferb now as opposed to 3 years ago is that surrealism is the norm. The negative reception of Phineas and Ferb only came when shows like Adventure Time and Gravity Falls (Although the latter shares aspects of Phineas and Ferb, it's closer to shows like Adventure Time and Regular Show in execution) became a hit and I honestly think that because it's humor and concept is different than shows like Adventure Time and Regular Show, people who liked Phineas and Ferb in the past or have just recently discovered it as opposed to when the show was the most popular cartoon on the internet and almost took Spongebob's place either hate the show or as Robbie Rotten said thinks it suffers from Hype Backlash. Phineas and Ferb itself is a concept from the 90s but didn't get picked up until 2005 (Disney Channel takes a few years to develop shows) and around the time the show came out, it's execution worked. Realistically Phineas and Ferb gets so much ire from viewers now because it isn't like the majority of modern cartoons that were actually created partially due to it's success (Networks were interested in animation that appealed to wider audiences again so it's likely that without PNF, shows like Adventure Time would have not seen the light of day). Had Phineas and Ferb ended after the TV Movie, I don't think it would suffer from Seinfeld is Unfunny.

In 10 years, people will probably be nostalgic for Phineas and Ferb and talk about how "great" it was and how they want it back XD.

03/07/2014 00:00:00

To be fair though, he doesn't say he hates Phineas and Ferb but just finds it overrated and suffers from Hype Backlash (Which in all fairness has been toned down when the other shows came out)

05/16/2018 00:00:00

I\'m not bashing this review or anything, but in my years with the show, up until now, I have never heard or seen any comparison to the Road Runner with this show.


Leave a Comment:

Top