"Am I the only one who wonders how this could possibly happen within Dn D rules? Yes, a critical hit is certainly possible, but I assumed that just meant extra damage and maybe a round of stunning (haven't read the rules). Are there really rules for a critical hit causing you to get skewered and therefore trapped on a conveniently sharp part of the environment?
It's nice to see Thaco win, but not if it requires breaking the very rules the universe is built on to do so."
It is worse. Not only it is statistically impossible according to the rules (remember, high-level characters technically can survive anything up to unprotected orbital reentry), lots of previous plot poits hanged on power relationships between characters of certain levels played completely straight. It was Ass Pull
, it was What an Idiot
moment (chances of Goblinslayer's survival clearly are 100%, why the hell you are just leaving psychopatic mass-murderer there, old dumbass?), it was Character Derailment
moment, in short, it was about the single worst strip in this webcomic.